eBook Seedtime read

Scott Chaskey ☆ 9 Summary

With the core myths of ancient cultures and the development of human consciousness Their story remains vitally important today as the corporations that manufacture GMOs threaten our food security and the future of seed cultivated agricultureThe stakes for those concerned with preserving biodiversity and ecological integrity are highBalancing a wide view of politics and history Chaskey alights from life on the farm he has cultivated for 25 years to conjure Greg. I won my copy from Goodreads GiveawaysThis was a beautiful thoughtful book on par with commentary of great works of literature but concerning garlic wheat and clover The very idea of a book devoted to discussing seeds can cause some people to laugh and others to yawn but they are too uick to dismiss what are essentially integral foundations of life on earth I immensely enjoyed Scott Chaskey s voice as he worked through thousands of years of evolution that present us with today s agriculture It is too easy to take for granted what can readily be found year round at the grocery store and Chaskey s voice is light enough to touch on matters of global concern without instilling the reader with a need to prepare their own doomsday bunker Fans of Michael Pollan Rachel Carson and William Shakespeare will find beauty in Chaskey s homage to the earth and its biology I appreciated how incredibly well read Chaskey is and how uick he is to give credit to authors and explorers who have come before him The only small critiue I have is that the end gets a little political but gets back on track by the final page and the reader can resume sharing in seed culture and going forth into the world appreciative of this worldHappy Reading The Exploration of the Male Anatomy preserving biodiversity and ecological integrity are highBalancing a wide view of All Night Long (Nannies, par with commentary of great works of literature but concerning garlic wheat and clover The very idea of a book devoted to discussing seeds can cause some The Freeze-Frame Revolution present us with today s agriculture It is too easy to take for granted what can readily be found year round at the grocery store and Chaskey s voice is light enough to touch on matters of global concern without instilling the reader with a need to The New-York Review, and Atheneum Magazine, Vol. 2 prepare their own doomsday bunker Fans of Michael Pollan Rachel Carson and William Shakespeare will find beauty in Chaskey s homage to the earth and its biology I appreciated how incredibly well read Chaskey is and how uick he is to give credit to authors and explorers who have come before him The only small critiue I have is that the end gets a little His Christmas Cowgirl (Wildflower Ranch page and the reader can resume sharing in seed culture and going forth into the world appreciative of this worldHappy Reading

Free read õ E-book, or Kindle E-pub ☆ Scott Chaskey

Seedtime

Scott Chaskey working farmer poet and spiritual father of the community farming movement considers the web of biodiversity and resilience at the heart of our cultural inheritance by masterfully weaving history politics botany literature mythology and memoir into a beautiful and instructive bookIt's hard to think of a subject fundamental to the sustenance of the human race than seeds Having coevolved with the Earth's plants insects and animals seeds are entwined. My reaction towards this books so depends on my mood First time learning about Nikolai Vavilov and am currently growing Moskvich tomatoes which was developed from a Russian Institute named after him For a couple of years I ve been growingsaving seeds from sunflowers and that is a fantastic labor of love I go through 20 lb bags of sunflower seeds rather uickly feeding the birds and suirrels and wonder that if they grow and flower will that pollen cross contaminate what I m growing and results in a patent lawsuit Just realized that when my high school Asian History class covered the Green Revolution some issues were not covered And his writing affects how you perceive time because of his age and experience believing that the seed has memory and how to care for the soil because there is so much going on under our feet

Free read Seedtime

Or Mendel's breeding experiments that yielded our modern understanding of genetics; he also introduces us to several bioneers such as the geobotanist Nikolay Vavilov and agriculturalist Cary Fowler who are preserving global biodiversity through seeds Integrating scholarship with accessible storytelling Seedtime is a celebration as well as a call to action urging us to renew our role as citizens of nature in ecologist Aldo Leopold's phrase not as conuerors of it. Interesting Some good informative bits however the author seemed to wander aimlessly in several chapters where the introduction of the topic didn t hold for the remainder of the chapter But it did provide a few intriguing topics and titles worth future investigation


10 thoughts on “Seedtime

  1. says:

    I read this book because Mann Library at Cornell University was running a super sweet Valentine's Day promotion where they matched you up with a

  2. says:

    My reaction towards this books so depends on my mood First time learning about Nikolai Vavilov and am currently growing Moskvich tomatoes which was developed from a Russian Institute named after him For a couple of years I've been growingsaving seeds from sunflowers and that is a fantastic labor of love I go through 20 lb bags of su

  3. says:

    Fabulous book on seed saving Lyrical and informative

  4. says:

    I received this book as a giveaway through the First Reads program It is always exciting to get a new book in the mail but this time I got a treasureScott Chaskey is a writer poet and farmer who runs the Peconic Land Trust's uail Hill Farm in Amaganesett New York The farm is one of the oldest examples of Community Support

  5. says:

    I won my copy from Goodreads GiveawaysThis was a beautiful thoughtful book on par with commentary of great works of literature but concerning garlic wheat and clover The very idea of a book devoted to discussing seeds can cause some

  6. says:

    A First Reads ReviewSeedtime is part memoir part science lesson and part history lesson Scott Chaskey not only spends a significant amount of recounting his own experiences as a farmer but he also traces the history of crop plants from the evolution of angiosperms to GMOs to today's organic food movement Perhaps the most annoying thing about Chaskey's writing is that he has a tendency to talk slowly He'll often

  7. says:

    As the title suggests this book is a complete study on seeds their history and the science behind them how humans have depended on and interacted with them how they are in the middle of political debates but most of all how they hold promise for all future lifeTold in a hopeful and poetic manner author Scott Chaskey uses storytelling inter weaved with factual evidenceto tell the incredible story of seeds on Ea

  8. says:

    It took a while for Scott Chaskey to catch his grove but once found this book was immensely enjoyable This well researched read takes one from the ancient begins of seed to the modern age of GMO’s

  9. says:

    Interesting Some good informative bits; however the author seemed to wander aimlessly in several chapters where the introduction of the topic didn't hold for the remainder of the chapter But it did provide a few intriguing topics and

  10. says:

    Top 5 Science and Nature PLA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *